Numbers don’t lie …


2015 was a strong year for me.

Raced my first 70.3, saw some material gains over 2014 race times, and managed to make it to the podium in some thinly-attended events.  I raced my first half-marathon and finished within an untied shoelace of my personal goal of 2 hours.

But like Oprah says, “When you know better, you do better.”

This year, I have a coach. In the past 8 weeks I have run more “logged runs” on Strava than in 2015 in aggregate and covered about half the total distance with those runs.  I’m nearly 15lbs lighter, running a stronger pace at a lower heart rate, and feeling stronger in the water.

#consistency

Admittedly, there have been a few nights that I would have skipped if there wasn’t someone watching over me.  Not my friends on Strava or Facebook – they know I’m crazy and celebrate me skipping a workout and being human for a few hours.

It’s my coach – it’s my family – it’s me.

People believe in me this year.  My loved ones want to exercise with me.  My friends agreed to run some shorter distance races with me.  My colleagues are coming-around to the idea of being more fit.

This is bigger than me.  That’s what I needed.  Having a coach and being part of a team has given that to me. The numbers don’t lie.

The road to Cedar Point is bigger than me because I’m not traveling it alone

Leave a Reply

